top of page

LOUNGES

DEPARTURES

12 School Hacks

Just a couple of things I've found have helped me along the way:

1. Two calendars and a note pad.

I've been using this system since first year, and it's helped me so much. Right after I finalize my classes, I'll put in my class times, homework/projects/quiz due dates, etc. onto my laptop calendar. This helps me visualize my days and weeks. Then, I'll draw out a calendar on a paper. I don't separate it by months - it's just one long table. I leave some space in the right by each week to note down things I hope to do by that week. This helps me keep track of long-term assignments. For daily plans, I keep a notepad that I update every week. Each day will have, italicized, events that I can't move, due dates, readings, etc., and then, non-italicized, things I hope to finish. If I can't accomplish them that day, I can simply move it to the next day.

2. Ratemyprofessor.com, Clark Students Facebook page

Most people probably already know this, but definitely look up your professor before signing up for classes! A class is so much more than the name and description. Good professors make all the difference.

3. Your schedule is never set until Registration closes. (And even then, it's still not 100% set).

I always change my class schedule at least 3 times in the two weeks that I have. Sometimes, I'll decide right before Registration closes. I'm not really sure if this is a good thing, but it's just helped me in picking classes, and I've talked to some people who apparently find changing classes stressful and scary. It's really not! One time, I wanted to get into a class and the professor wouldn't answer any of my emails, so I just showed up to class early and made sure I had a seat. After 2-3 classes of doing this, someone dropped out and he let me in.

4. Talk in class.

Not because you want to get full participation points, or because you want to impress your professors, but because it's a pretty effective way to keep you awake!

5. Take fun notes.

Do mind maps. Use colored markers. Draw doodles. It'll keep you engaged and it's more fun to look afterwards.

6. Drink water.

Did you know that drinking a glass of water can make your brain 14% faster? That's because your brain is made out of water and fats. Make sure you're hydrated!

7. Work in breaks VS go all in.

They say 20-minute work sessions are the best. I personally find that once I start working, I prefer doing it in a long stretch of time. This really depends. Definitely use Self-Control though! It's a great app that you can use to block yourself from accessing certain websites for however many hours you want.

8. Reading techniques

So this came from a book I read about the brain a while back, but I've found it pretty useful. It's supposed to prep your brain for reading and activate your memory. Here's what you do: before you read, imagine there's an orange in front of you. Smell it, feel it, see the orange, and then imagine it floating to the top of your head. Make sure you still smell it. This exercise will help you activate all your senses and be present for the reading. Now, when you read, first flip through all the pages of the chapter (1-2 second per page) while imagining that there's a big X crossing through the page. Then, go through the pages again, but this time, only read the big headings and look at the images. What are some topics you already know of? What are some you have never heard of? This will help you figure out topics that you may need less time on. Then last, start reading. This technique has helped me remember things visually and basically speed up my reading a lot, so try it out!

9. Move where you work.

Switch between fifth floor library, the AC, Bistro, cafeteria, Acoustic Java, third floor of Jefferson, the Geography building, etc. Switch between standing and sitting.

10. Office hours.

The more shy or scared you are, the earlier you should make use of those office hours. Get it out of the way, and the rest of the semester will be much easier. You'll be able to talk in class and ask your professor for help. What's the worst that could happen?

11. Work with your classmates.

Again, this really depends on what kind of person you are, but don't hesitate to work with your classmates. It's a great way to get to know people better. StudyBlue is a great platform to make flashcards, and last semester (Hello, Earth System Science!) it saved some of my classmates and I. We created a shared account and each made flashcards for separate chapters (saved so much time!), then studied together. Much more fun and engaging to work with friends. :)

12. What motivates you?

Are you internally or externally motivated? What gets you to work best - the idea that whatever you study right now will lead you to help people, the fear that you might fail a class, the desire to graduate with the best GPA, the dream of having a high-paying job, or the sheer enjoyment of learning new things? Maybe it's all of them! Figure out what motivates you and surround yourself with reminders of that motivation. Whenever you're distracted in class, remind yourself of that goal.

Ultimately, studying is a type of work, and everyone's working style differs. College is a great time to test techniques out and get you prepared for life after school. So each time you try any sort of study hack, be sure to reflect and judge yourself on how efficient it is for you! Good luck. :)

CHECK-IN

THE TERMINALS

bottom of page